研究结果

全球最大规模睡眠呼吸暂停和心血管疾病的研究

睡眠呼吸暂停心血管研究终点事件 (SAVE) 研究是全球规模最大的睡眠研究。研究目的是为了回答一个问题“使用持续气道正压通气 (CPAP)治疗阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停 (OSA) 是否能降低OSA患者心脏病或卒中发作的风险”。

睡眠过程中,当口腔后部的气道反复地部分或全部阻塞时就会发生OSA。呼吸次数减少或短暂停止导致血氧水平下降及睡眠中断。这些情况可以在晚上发生很多次。除增加心脏病或脑卒中的发作风险外,OSA会引发一系列其他问题,诸如嗜睡(或乏力),昏昏欲睡、昼间瞌睡和思维迟钝,这些问题都会影响工作及社会活动。人际关系也会因过度嗜睡受影响。

SAVE研究总结后发现CPAP治疗不会降低OSA合并心血管疾病患者脑卒中和心脏病复发的风险。但该研究表明CPAP治疗能提高患者的生活质量,情绪和日常生活功能。来自7个国家逾2700例患者随访了7年的研究结果已在2016年8月28日的全球最大医学会议之一,即欧洲心脏病学会议上公布,同时也在著名医学期刊《新英格兰医学杂志》上发表。

Flinders University SAVE study patient

患者佩戴CPAP面罩睡觉

研究结果让弗林德斯大学与乔治全球健康研究院的研究人员备受鼓舞,这将对全球患者的治疗管理产生重要影响。

每晚至少使用3小时CPAP治疗的患者其鼾症、情绪、生活质量以及工作效率都得到了极大的改善。因此,CPAP治疗无疑有助于提高伴有睡眠呼吸紊乱的心血管疾病患者的生活质量。

如何降低OSA患者罹患心脏病或脑卒中的风险,还需要更多的研究。

Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health Flinders University The George Institute University of Sydney Australian Sleep Trials Network Rui Jin Hospital

Findings from Research

Largest global study investigating sleep apnea and cardiovascular disease

The Sleep Apnea cardioVascular Endpoints (SAVE) study is the largest sleep study ever undertaken. The aim of the study was to answer the question, “Does treatment of obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) with Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) reduce the risk of heart attacks and strokes in people with OSA?”

OSA occurs when the airway at the back of the mouth becomes partly or completely blocked repeatedly during sleep. Breathing is reduced or may stop briefly resulting in falling oxygen levels and interrupted sleep. These episodes may happen many times during the night. As well as raising the risk of having a heart attack or stroke, OSA causes a whole host of other problems such as lethargy(or low energy), drowsiness, daytime napping and poor thinking, all of which can impact on work performance and social activities. Relationships also suffer from excessive snoring.

The SAVE study has now concluded and it found that CPAP does not reduce the risk of recurrent strokes and heart attacks in people with cardiovascular disease.  However, the study clearly showed that CPAP is able to improve quality of life, mood and daily functioning of patients. The results of the study, which involved over 2,700 participants from seven countries, who were followed up for several years, were announced on August 28th 2016 at the European Society of Cardiology Conference, one of the largest medical conferences in the world, and published simultaneously in the prestigious New England Journal of Medicine.

Flinders University SAVE study patient

Patient sleeping with a CPAP mask

Researchers from Flinders University and The George Institute for Global Health are particularly encouraged by the results, which will have a major impact on the management of patients worldwide.

SAVE participants who were able to use the CPAP machine for a minimum of 3 hours a night reported significant improvements in their wellbeing from reduced snoring and improved mood, quality of life, and with less time being taken off work due to sickness.  Thus, CPAP clearly was able to improve the lives of people with cardiovascular disease who suffer with sleep disordered breathing.

More research is still needed on how to reduce the significant risks of suffering a heart attack or stroke for those who suffer from sleep apnea.

Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health Flinders University The George Institute University of Sydney Australian Sleep Trials Network Rui Jin Hospital